Microsoft Ends Support on Windows 8 and Internet Explorer

Please be aware Microsoft is once again narrowing their product base and is ending support of Windows 8. Further Internet Explorer (IE) versions 8,9,10 have had the support ended as well.

http://i2.wp.com/technoatp.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/window8.png?fit=810%2C456

There’s been many different articles on it, but here’s two articles which explain it – including with videos.

Security updates for windows 8 to cease after January 12 2016

Windows 8 Microsoft ends support for 3 year old operating system

Microsoft cutting support for IE 8 9 and 10

Windows 10

In our house my husband and I have both been invited to upgrade to Windows 10. We have both wanted to upgrade but didn’t want to do it without knowing what exactly would happen to our computers. Once we did some research, we found Windows Media Center wouldn’t be in Windows 10. My husband uses it sparingly but has had many problems with it. On the other hand, I use it daily and have had no problems with it. Its very easy to use and does what I want. The problem is it saves in formats which I have to convert the things I record in.

The screen when you updating Windows 10

Finally yesterday, my husband loaded Windows 10 on his computer. We have both downloaded the software but it still took him about 3 hours to put Windows 10 Operating System on his computer. Since then, he’s find that it ‘operates fine and Ok’ according to him. He did say it is easier to transfer things to our Media TV sets, which is an improvement.

Because of my issue with Windows Media Player, I haven’t loaded Windows 10. I have to find software which can record TV easy enough. I’m still looking for something which could fit, but now that my husband has the software loaded it might be easier to find software that fits.

Leave a Reply

