New Gadgets – do we need them or not?

As I sit here and hear about the new inventions coming out, I’m asking myself – do I really need these new things coming out? Then I remember back when computers, and all the add ons came out and most I said I could do without, but then later went out and bought anyway. This has continued in the years since, and lately, each year with add ons being developed after the main component has been released. This year is no different to my way of thinking, however, this year most gadgets that have been developed seem to be made just to have something new being marketed.

The latest craze has been Google Glasses and items such as Apple iWatch, Samsung Galaxy Gear and Sony Smartwatch 2. Personally, as I must wear glasses, I don’t think the Google Glasses will be for me as they don’t seem they would be functional enough with normal glasses. Besides, do I really want to be connected that much to actually wear something like that? Not at the moment as I can easily draw a line where the internet can stay and go. At the moment the Google Glasses is a go. Besides, can you imagine being in the car and being issued a ticket for what the officer considered the head-mounted display a monitor? I can see where the head-gear would be a distraction for the driver, but could that mean that an officer could pull me over because I’m wearing glasses next? It could be when you sit back and think about it. Believe me, it would be more harmful if I didn’t have my glasses on as I couldn’t see a thing otherwise.

Then you have all the other gear that’s appearing such as in watches. The Apple iWatch, Samsung Galaxy Gear and Sony Smartwatch 2 are the new areas. I couldn’t see me talking into my watch or getting updates on the watch instead of my phone at this time; however, I could imagine something like that to lessen the necessity for me to carry around a phone in my hand to keep an eye on the messages coming in. Would I rush right out and get one of these devices? Not yet, but for those who love gadgets, I can see them running right out and getting them.

Do I think there are new ways that technology can go for the future? Definitely! However, we’re not there just yet.

For those of you interested in this, there is an event coming up next November 7 in New York City. Wearable Computing Conference 2013 New York City (http://www.wearable-computing-conference.com) will show how next-generation technology is revolutionizing the human experience… People from Goldman Sachs, BioSensics, Sony, Hitachi, Apple, Kinetic Body Lab, HTC, Fingent, and many more leading companies will be in attendance. To reserve your seat, visit http://wearablecompcon.eventbrite.com Thank you to our reader Innovator for this helpful information!

3 thoughts on “New Gadgets – do we need them or not?

  1. For those interested in learning the latest on wearable technology, there is an event coming up next November 7 in New York City. Wearable Computing Conference 2013 New York City (http://www.wearable-computing-conference.com) will show how next-generation technology is revolutionizing the human experience… People from Goldman Sachs, BioSensics, Sony, Hitachi, Apple, Kinetic Body Lab, HTC, Fingent, and many more leading companies will be in attendance. To reserve your seat, visit http://wearablecompcon.eventbrite.com

Leave a Reply

