Happy Birthday to Apple’s App Store

Celebrating 5 years of the App Store

From macstories.net – Celebrating 5 years of the App Store

Today marks the 5th anniversary of Apple’s App Store. Apple is celebrating by giving you 10 free apps! This amazes me as why they would do this.

Now that I’ve caught your attention, these apps are only for certain specified apps I hate to tell you. This morning when I was watching the news, and they brought up this promotion, I was thinking the same thing you were – great! Let’s go app shopping; however once I actually researched the promotion, it was clear to me, it was only a named group of apps that are to be blessed with this giveaway. These titles are:

I haven’t heard of any of these apps, so beware. However, if you are feel adventurous, by all means go ahead and check them out.

In my opinion, I believe that Apple wanted to grab consumer’s attention by making this announcement, however, I think this is just evil to get people’s hopes up and then dash them when they find out that it’s exactly what they had advertised. This is just a continuation of what Apple’s been doing in the last 2 to 3 years – releasing newish products with very little or no difference (iPhone 4s and newer iOS version 7) or making a change that affects the range of products (iPhone 5).

Going in Circles or Creating something New?

The company seems to be going in circles with products rather than thinking outside of the square like they have been. Unfortunately, this has to do with Steve Job‘s visions rather than a company’s vision. When Steve was around, he thought about things and what would be really cool and people would like and then put a polish on it to make it classy for everyone. However, since he got sick and eventually passed away, the company has not

Steve Jobs the thinker

Steve Jobs the thinker From: http://www.fulldhamaal.com

done anything new in technology. They’ve revised the iOS, they made a bigger phone with a different connection (which annoys people more because they have to go out and buy all new connections), and have done very little with any of the other products.

To me, it seems to be what Apple does. Back in the 80’s and early 90’s, they were out in front and creating new technology and ways of doing things. I learned to use a computer on an Apple IIe and then later in university at Orange County Community College, I used them to program in graphics and use the ‘new’ word processor. Its was interesting and yet hard to use but I loved it. Then as time went on, the company seemed to stall. They didn’t really do anything other than copy what IBM and, later, Microsoft was doing. Then in 2008, they came out with a classy looking phone (iPhone 3), and everyone was interested. By 2010, they had the iPhone 4 out and had just released the iPad. Suddenly everyone took note and, now that Steve was back at Apple, he had everyone’s attention again. That was the biggest event to happen to Apple’s App Store. Now everyone didn’t have to have a phone, but something they could really use everywhere. Over the past years since the iPad’s been released, many people have them and if you look around many have them. I have to admit I was one of the first people to get the iPad because it seemed small and light for me and being on the go. I love my iPad even though it doesn’t have any cameras on it to this day. However, now that they’ve had their big release of a major product, we get only little drips from them. We get nothing that grabs our attention like they did with the iPhone and iPad.

Have we seen the last big product of Apple? Or is there something else brewing within the company none of us know about?

I’m hoping that it’s the latter for Apple and not the former. I would love to say that Apple is here to stay and is coming up with something that will grab our attention again. Reality tells me that Apple will slowly fall off the tree and turn rotten unfortunately. What’s your view?

 

17 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Apple’s App Store

  1. a large number of american footbal athletic class stories coupled with experience blog website

    • I hope what you found is helpful.

      Good luck with the enhancing of your website. Its all in what you want to do with the website, what information you want to give out and what audience you want to draw.

  2. Excellent website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics talked about
    in this article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

    • Thank you for your reply. I don’t know off hand about any sites which cover Apple itself. I would try and Google forums and apple and see what happens. Good luck!

  3. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this
    content together. I once again find myself personally spending
    a significant amount of time both reading and
    commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  4. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how
    to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your
    videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  5. I don’t leave a comment, but after looking at through a few of the comments here Happy Birthday to Apples App Store | Jo Ann Fitzgerald’s Professional
    Blog. I actually do have a few questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or do a few of the remarks look like they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I would like to follow you. Could you make a list of all of your social community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • Please, everyone deserves to have a point of view and it be respected. If yours doesn’t agree with anyone that has posted, then you can give factual opinions about why something is not correct and we all can have a discussion in regards to this.

      I do write a few other online social sites, but this is the only area I post regarding Social Media, and other IT related items.

  6. TrackBack

    • It depends on what you want to do with the site and what information you want listed. Further is it a site that will keep all info (static) or do you want info to change on it (dynamic)? Having a website can be easy or hard – it just depends on what you want to do with it. Some people, if they want commenting, have a blog as a website because you can have other pages with it. Have you thought of that? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

